Note: This post has 13 chapters. To access the index, click the button above marked, "CHAPTER INDEX". Each chapter ends with a link to the next one, and a link back to the chapter index. Alternatively, you can access them via the Blog Archive list at right. Or you can simply scroll down.


Ch. 1.  Meet the Riverina Girl
Ch.2.   Meet the Forebears
Ch. 3.  "A Lovely Day for the Funeral"
Ch. 4.  The Golden Years of Childhood
Ch. 5.  Reading and 'Riting, and 'Rithmetic
Ch. 6.  Friends and Neighbours
Ch. 7.  Captain McGovern
Ch. 8.  The Barren Branch
Ch. 9.  The Age of the Horse
Ch. 10. Possums, Pets, and Poddy Lambs
Ch. 11. How the Farm Was Run
Ch. 12. "Country Girls Don't Work"
Ch. 13. The Passing of an Era